Knowing a Small Rock

07Dec11

This is my final project for my drawing class.  I decided to find a small object and, without looking at it, do a series of blind contour drawings (without looking at the paper) based only on my sense of touch. I did this by holding the rock in my pocket and feeling it with my thumb while drawing. After 25 drawings I decided that I knew the rock well enough and I did a drawing of it using my eyes.  I think that getting to know the rock so well before seeing it affected the way in which I approached the final drawing. Mostly because I knew more about its texture and had an intimate knowledge of the bumps and pits on its surface.

No Responses Yet to “Knowing a Small Rock”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

