The Cartography of Time

24Nov11

   

This project was in response to our assignment, the cartography of time. I chose to melt a block of ice on my board and mark its progress by tracing its puddle’s expanding perimeter. It took me about three hours of tracing. I know because I labelled the time that I made every outline.

After the ice was gone and the board had dried, I proceeded to fill in certain sections of the map that I had created with snippets of things that surrounded me in the studio. In this way, the painting became about the time that it took for the ice to melt, and also about the time that it took for me to paint it.  I chose to display it on the ground because for me there was no top or bottom so it didn’t make sense to put it on the wall.  It also made more sense to me to have it on the floor so it referenced the position it was in when the ice melted.

No Responses Yet to “The Cartography of Time”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

