Stoneware Pot with Cork and China

18Dec10

32″x 26″

This was the final painting for my intro paint class.  We were open to any style and subject matter for this painting, as long as it showed the skills that we had been taught over the semester. I chose to expand on my earlier still life painting using the same type of objects and a similar arrangement.

My decision to drastically crop the bowl and cup on the right helped me render fewer things in more detail and also allowed a more direct focus in the painting.  I  think that this painting benefited  from the work I did on composition in my figure drawing class. In my next still life painting I will make sure that all the objects can be painted in the same style. I had trouble doing the china bowl after rendering the brown pot very loosely with heavy paint.

No Responses Yet to “Stoneware Pot with Cork and China”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

