Block 1

14Nov10

Oil on Canvas  5’x5′

This painting shows the placement of gum on a sidewalk block near the bus stop I usually wait at. I used a grid to map the gum as accurately as possible from a photograph I took. I also tried to make sure that the canvas was the same size as the block of sidewalk.

For me, this painting raises questions about the behaviour of people when they are in public. I find it interesting that the side of the block that has the highest density of gum was the side that was against a wall.

No Responses Yet to “Block 1”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

