The Odd One Out

09Nov10

Oil on Board   47″x 30″

This is a painting from the summer that I never finished.  It is based on a photograph of a pen full of trout at a restaurant just outside of Sarajevo in Bosnia.  Most of the fish were very dark but a couple of the biggest were albino.  You can’t see any other fish in the painting except in the bottom right. There were a lot of them.  I also ate two of them.

I stopped painting this because I felt it was boring. The idea was to render the reflections in the water so that they were unrecognizable as water, and then have the fish up top as a sort of clue to what the painting was. I might work with this idea again in the future, but this painting in particular didn’t work out.

I added the vertical stripes much later in an attempt to make the composition more lively and to give the painting a bit more ambiguity.  Right now it is interesting enough to me to have on my wall, but it is by no means a finished painting.

No Responses Yet to “The Odd One Out”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

