Coconut Sculpture

07Feb10

This is a project for my sculpture class. The assignment was to take an interesting object and manipulate it so that people see it differently.  I chose a coconut because of its texture.  

I manipulated the coconut by cutting it into pieces with a handsaw and then reassembled them in an interesting way with black wire. The most difficult part of the project was bending the wire and I had to use a variety of pliers, wire cutters and hammers to accomplish it. 

One of the most interesting parts of this project was the development of the idea for what I was doing. I had to discard certain ideas and think of new ones as different problems arose during the construction of the sculpture.  Because of this the sculpture is not only a product of my ideas, but also of the materials I was using.

No Responses Yet to “Coconut Sculpture”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

