Black-Eyed Susans

05Sep09

Black-eyed Susans

Oil on Canvas

6″x 7″

This is another new technique for me. I painted the entire canvas dark blue and then laid yellow on top. I then removed areas which I wanted to be dark. It was much more like drawing than painting. The white was added afterwards.  I used a variety of stone sculpting tools, which I have never found a use for until now, to scrape away the yellow. The rest was done by palette knife. This type of flower has been the subject of many of my previous paintings. I really like how the petals vary in shape and size and how they flop all over the place.

3 Responses to “Black-Eyed Susans”

  1. 1 severnyproductions

    subtle, cool painting

  2. 2 lemonsandlullabies

    This is gorgeous; I envy your talent.


Leave a Reply

